Discover an epic tale of magic, revenge, and an empire on the verge of ruin in the first ever novel set in the blockbuster universe of League of Legends. It all started with the Playstation we got for Christmas when we were kids. It was love at first sight for us. My parents would set up a little egg timer on top of our TV, and we’d be allowed up to one hour of game playing each. As my brothers dived into new games, I attached myself to their sides like a little shadow to watch them play. What I found most alluring about video games were the fascinating adventures and stories the characters navigated through. As a day one bookworm, I have always been up for a good story. Watching my brothers play video games felt like seeing a story come to life in front of me, and I loved that even more than trying to play all the games on my own. I saw it as much less effort for more entertainment on my end. I used to watch my brothers play all of the Playstation classics, including the many variations of Final Fantasy, Kingdom Hearts, Spyro the Dragon, Tomb Raider, Mega Man, Jak and Daxter, Sly Cooper, Assassin’s Creed, and more. Dark Cloud, the PS2 game, did actually become a favorite of mine to play, with its treasure hunting and village building. And I wouldn’t say no to a round of Crash Bandicoot or Crash Team Racing either. Otherwise though, I lived for watching my brothers play and getting lost in the epic stories of these video games. For those who also love the worlds of video games, I’ve complied a list of 20 must-read novels — both graphic novels and prose novels — based on or inspired by video games. Which game is your favorite?

Novels Based On Video Games

For those gamers looking to find books that mirror the video games you love, I’ve kicked off my list with novels based on video games.

Novels Inspired By Video Games

Switching gears from novels based on video games, below I’ve gathered together a selection of books inspired by video games more generally. These books revolve around characters playing video games as a central theme within the story. In between your late night gaming sessions, I hope these novels based on video games inspire you to stay up late reading too. For those looking to go further down the rabbit hole of bookish video game content, check out more books about video games and this Rioter’s personal piece on how video games encouraged a love of reading.

20 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 1320 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 9220 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 4320 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 6620 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 3420 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 7420 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 7020 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 9320 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 8820 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 1120 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 3220 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 4720 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 2720 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 6220 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 1720 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 4420 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 5620 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 3020 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 7520 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 1720 Must Read Novels Based On Or Inspired By Video Games - 18