I, like a lot of students, had started to hate reading because the only reading I had set time aside for was reading for school. Some of what I was reading was great, but a lot of it was things I would never pick for myself, and have no interest in ever reading again. The thing was, I didn’t want to lose my love of reading. I just needed to find a way to get myself to fall back in love with reading. Enter the reread. I decided that every year I would reread one series that I had loved as a middle/high schooler. It was a manageable goal since I was only trying to fit five YA books into my reading schedule. Even after the first year I knew I had made a great decision. While I had outgrown some of them, most of the books reminded me why I loved reading. They also helped me remember why I wanted to be a writer. It was everything I was missing from my life, and the habit has stuck. I’m still choosing a YA series to reread every year, but I’ve expanded beyond that and have started reading all sorts of things again. Sometimes as soon as I finish a book, I start it over right away. Below is a list of books that I have reread over the last few years, and I think you should too! I will say this list has a lot of high fantasy/sci-fi and classics, as these are the types of books I tend to think have the most to say during a second reading. Now, if you haven’t read any of these books before, it’s not too late. There always has to be a first read before there can be a second!

Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 40Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 16Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 40Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 68Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 89Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 43Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 68Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 26Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 45Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 37Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 80Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 30Books That Hit Different the Second Time Around - 68